ATIBT's scientific board

1. Context

ATIBT (*Association Technique Internationale des Bois Tropicaux* - International Tropical Timber Technical Association) is an association that was founded at the request of the FAO and the OECD in order to organise and rationalise the tropical timber trade. Since 1951, ATIBT has been the focal point for all professions related to tropical timber.

ATIBT promotes the development of a sustainable, ethical and legal tropical timber sector as a natural, renewable and essential raw material for the socio-economic development of producing countries.

In order to guarantee the quality of its interventions, ATIBT wishes to benefit from the advice and expertise of a scientific committee.

2. Mission

The Scientific Board has a critical yet independent opinion, while benefiting from ATIBT's framework. The Board can be consulted by ATIBT or it can call on the Association to give an opinion on a scientific issue of a well-defined theme that is considered a priority for ATIBT. The presence of third-party scientists - with various backgrounds - allows a neutral and independent diagnosis to be performed.

The Scientific Board must be able to provide facts and elements that support the work of the Committees. To this end, it feeds their work with the most relevant scientific publications. It will also describe in layman's terms the results of research having forest management implications in the form of brief notes, especially for the ATIBT website.

3. Composition and appointment of the board's members

The scientific board consists of scientific organisations that are members of ATIBT as well as non-member organisations.

Since ATIBT's activities primarily concern African forest countries, a good balance between Northern and Southern organisations is desirable.

The chairman of the board must be an ATIBT member, and will act as the main point of contact in relation to the board of directors. He/she is elected by the members of the board by a simple majority for a period of two years.

The members of the scientific board are identified by the chairman of the board on the basis of their skills in terms of the sustainable management of Central African forest concessions. ATIBT's Board of Directors validates the composition of the board and its chairman is in charge of informing the respective institutions or supervisory bodies which the members come from.

4. How the scientific board operates

Whenever possible, meetings will be held in person or, otherwise, via any appropriate means of communication (Skype, videoconference, etc.).

ATIBT's director attends the scientific board as an observer and acts as secretariat.

All decisions are ratified by consensus or, failing that, by a simple majority vote.

The scientific board may invite (in an advisory capacity) any person whose presence is likely to assist it in its work without actually having a right to vote.

The mandate of a member of the scientific board does not give right to any remuneration. Whenever possible, and depending on the availability of funds, travel expenses will be covered by ATIBT.

5. Make-up of the scientific board

The scientific board consists of a dozen members who can designate a substitute in the event of unavailability. The list of members is attached.

Members of ATIBT's scientific board

01.01.2018

Institutional members of ATIBT

Prof. Michel Baudouin (ERAIFT)(DRC) Dr. Alain Karsenty (CIRAD), Dr. Sylvie Gourlet-Fleury (France) Prof. Jean-Louis Doucet, Prof. Cédric Vermeulen (Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech, Liège University) (Belgium)

Institutions that are not members of ATIBT

Dr. Mathurin Tchatat (IRAD / MINRESI), represented by Prof. Bonaventure Sonke (Yaoundé I University) (Cameroon) Prof. Faustin Boyemba Bosela (Kisangani University), represented by Bhely Angoboy Ilondea (National Institute for Agricultural Research and Studies) (DRC) Prof. Alfred Ngomanda (IRET), represented by Prof. Alain Souza (INSAB/USTM) (Gabon) Prof. Jean Joël Loumeto (Marien Ngouabi University), Dr. Jean de Dieu Nzila (National Forest Research Institute) (Congo) Dr. Yao Lambert Kouadio (Nangui Abrogoua University) (Côte d'Ivoire) Dr. Richard Eba'a Atyi (CIFOR) Prof. Olga Diane Bombo-Yongo (Bangui University, CAR)